Prof. de Meyer

Name: De Meyer Simon F., born 08/04/1977 (Roeselare, Belgium)

University degrees:

- Industrial Engineer in Biochemistry (KHBO, Ostend, Belgium): magna cum laude,1999
- Bio-engineer in Chemistry (KU Leuven, Belgium): magna  cum laude, 2001
- PhD in Biochemistry, KU Leuven (2005)


Academic appointments:

  • · Postdoctoral researcher (FWO fellowship), Laboratory for Thrombosis Research, KU Leuven Campus Kortrijk (Prof. Dr. H. Deckmyn) (2006-2012)
  • · Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Pathology, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Immune Disease Institute, Boston, USA (Prof. Dr. Denisa D. Wagner) (03/2009-09/2011)
  • · Professor, Department of Cardiovascular Sciences, KU Leuven/ Group Biomedical Sciences Kulak (2012-present)
  • · Head of Faculty of Medicine, KU Leuven Campus Kulak Kortrijk (2015-present)
  • · Member of the Young Academy of Belgium (2013-2018)
  • · Board Member of the Belgian Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (2016-present)
  • · Co-chair of the International Scientifc and Standardization Committee on von Willebrand factor of the International Society on Thrombosis and Hemostasis (2017-present)
  • · Campus Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, KU Leuven Campus Kulak Kortrijk (2015-present)
  • · Director of the KU Leuven Campus Kulak Kortrijk animal facility (2014-present)

Prizes/Awards (More than 15 travel grants/awards, not listed)

  • · Young Investigator Award on the XXIst Congress on Thrombosis and Haemostasis, Geneva, 2007 ($1000)
  • · Young Investigator Award on the XXIInd Congress on Thrombosis and Haemostasis, Boston, 2009 ($1000)
  • · Bayer Hemophilia Early Career Investigator Award, 2010 (research grant $87000)
  • · Sanofi-Aventis Prize for Research in Thrombosis, Haemostasis, Vascular Biology and Experimental Cardiology, Ghent, Belgium, 2010 (8000€)
  • · U.S. New Investigator Award on the XXIIIrd Congress on Thrombosis and Haemostasis, Kyoto, 2011 ($2000)
  • · Galenus Prize for Fundamental Pharmacology, Brussels, Belgium, 2012 (7000€)
  • · Prize Edmond Secq (Royal Academy of Medicine of Begium), shared with Karen Vanhoorelbeke, Brussels, Belgium (€5000)
  • · Baron Marc Verstraete Prize for research on hemato-angiology, Brussels, Belgium, 2017 (14000€)
  • · Prize Ernest Solvay (Queen Elisabeth Medical Foundation for Neurosciences), Brussels, Belgium, 2019 (25000€)


  • · (co-) inventor on 4 patents
  • · > 40 invited lectures at international conferences, 4 of which as Plenary Lecture.
  • · (Co)-supervisor of 18 past (8) and current (10) PhD students
  • · > 75 international peer-reviewed publications, ISI Web of Knowledge h-index: 24


Three recent key publications


  1. Laridan E., Denorme F., Desender L., François O., Deckmyn H., Vanhoorelbeke K., De Meyer SF. (2017). Neutrophil extracellular traps in ischemic stroke thrombi. Annals of Neurology, 82 (2), 223-232. (Impact factor: 10.24). Peer reviewed
  1. Denorme F., Langhauser F., Desender L., Vandenbulcke A., Rottensteiner H., Plaimauer B., Francois O., Andersson T., Deckmyn H., Scheiflinger F., Kleinschnitz C., Vanhoorelbeke K., De Meyer SF. (2016). ADAMTS13-mediated thrombolysis of t-PA-resistant occlusions in ischemic stroke in mice. Blood, 127 (19), 2337-2345. (Impact factor: 15.13). Peer reviewed
  1. Verhenne S., Denorme F., Libbrecht S., Vandenbulcke A., Pareyn I., Deckmyn H., Lambrecht A., Nieswandt B., Kleinschnitz C., Vanhoorelbeke K., De Meyer SF. (2015). Platelet-derived VWF is not essential for normal thrombosis and hemostasis but fosters ischemic stroke injury in mice. Blood 126 (14), 1715-1722. (Impact factor: 15.13). Peer reviewed